Stand on your head.

Standard

Things I learned about life by living in Mexico 7:

After a semester of perro boca abajos (downward dog) in my yoga class, my arms finally got strong enough for me to be able to stand on my head without even leaning on the wall. My teacher wisely pointed out that standing on your head is not really even that much harder than walking, because in order to walk you have to trust that you’re going to land every time you throw your foot out in front of you. Standing on your head is 10% strength and 70% believing that you can stand on your head, and 20% being willing to turn upside down and achieve balance from another perspective. Insert metaphor.

Leave a Reply

